Saturday, February 27, 2016

Love Comes Softly

Love Comes Softly by Janette Oke (Love Comes Softly Book Series book #1)

<3 <3 <3 <3 <3

Summary: Love Comes Softly introduced the characters of Marty and Clark Davis, whose tragic circumstances brought them to a "marriage of convenience" on the frontier prairies during the mid 1800s. The story of how Clark's patient, caring love mirrored that of the heavenly Father, drawing Marty to faith and to love, has captured the hearts and imaginations of over one million readers.

Review: Love Comes Softly tells the story of young Marty a young woman who on her way to the frontier prairies loses her husband in an accident. Before she can even bury her husband she gets a marriage proposal from Clark Davis who needs a Mother for his little girl; Marty accepts having nowhere else to go and thus begins the journey of how Clark and Marty work through the grief that they have both experienced from losing their first spouses; and the love that will grow gradually for each other in both of their hearts; and how maybe just maybe God did this to show them His love can get a person through hard times; as well as Marty and Clark realizing that maybe this is part of His plan for their lives and only He knows the end from the beginning.

This is the first in a four book series; I have them all in one volume but will be posting each book with its own review.  Love Comes Softly had characters that you just wanted to hold when they cried or laugh with when something joyful happened.  Its one of my favorite Christian fiction series that I've read in quite a long time. I would recommend it to anyone who loves Christian fiction or just Fiction with good morals in general.  

ps The only think I disagree with in the book is how easy it was to get Missie the toddler in the story to obey and just play quietly; I think more detail could've been added about her or at least more realistic scenes where she behaved like a normal toddler.

No comments:

Post a Comment